Brian “Head” Welch Returns to KoRn

On the night of May 15, KoRn fans in Belle Vernon, PA were given a pleasant surprise in the form of lead guitarist, Brian “Head” Welch.  Unlike Head’s surprise at the 2012 Carolina Rebellion Festival taking the stage to perform “Blind” with his former band, this time Welch stayed for the whole set; something that hadn’t happened since Welch’s departure from the incredibly successful band in 2005.  Welch and the rest of the boys from KoRn recently announced the lead guitarist’s permanent return to the band not too long ago to the delight of many diehard KoRn fans.

The May 15th set appropriately opened with “Blind,” but this time, Welch did not exit the stage after it was over.  In fact, he didn’t exit the stage at all.  The band played twenty one songs including the four encores to send the fans into a frenzy and to create a warm homecoming welcome back for Welch.

Welch joined the ranks of Loudwire.com as their newest columnist and is planning on using that position to document his return to KoRn and to keep the fans updated on how it turns out.  Of this opportunity, Welch says, “I’d really like to journal where this road back to KoRn carries me.  I’d love for all of you to travel with me back into the family that I left behind so long ago.  I’d love for you to be with me as I return to the boys to see if this idea totally crashes, or turns into a long-term thing – either is very possible at this point to be totally honest.”  We will anxiously wait to see how it all turns out.

Leave a comment